All About Technology & Troubleshooting

How To Sync With iTunes Without Deleting Apple Music Playlists?

If you want to sync with iTunes without deleting Apple Music playlist, then you have to follow one easy option.

When you are trying to work on your offline music library and the Apple Music library together, then you can feel little overwhelming and confusing. And, this confusion even gets wider because of the overlapping between the functions performed by Apple Music and iTunes Match. So, if in this you want to sync with iTunes without deleting Apple Music playlist on Mac, then have you ever wondered how your locally saved songs and playlists interact with Apple Music.

Generally, if you turn off iCloud Music library, it will delete all your content of Apple Music which is present on your iPhone and can sync your iMac stuff on iPhone. However, if you turn on iCloud Music library again, then what will happen? Will it keep all your music in the cloud so you can download again or you have to search for everything once again?

In this post, we are going to discuss the various components of Apple Music and how it interacts with the offline music library and how they both can be synced together so that you won’t be lost your music files.

A Comparison Between Apple Music and iTunes Match

Before moving further on the topic, it is great if we clear a few basic stuff. When you get the subscription of Apple Music, then it will scan up all the songs present on your Mac to see if any of them match with the available songs on Apple Music library. Then, the matched songs will be immediately streamed through your Mac or any other Apple device that you are using to sign in to your Apple Music library. This service is referred to as iCloud Music Library.

However, the iCloud Music library works for songs that are available on the iTunes Music library only. If you have a variety of music on your iPhone like remix, mashups and obscure tracks which aren’t available on iTunes Store, then Apple Music will upload all these tracks on the cloud as well for you. This way you will be able to listen to your all favorite music tracks, but with one caveat – Apple Music places DRM on the tracks which you have downloaded from any other devices. That’s means when your Apple Music subscription is over, then you won’t be able to hear those tracks anymore. The original music file won’t get affected here.

In this department, Apple has one another matching service called iTunes Match which does a better job in uploading storing the unoriginal content. That’s because it doesn’t add DRM to tracks. iTunes Match is a yearly subscription (£21.99/$24.99) that also matches your music to the iTunes Store.

Some people use both the services Apple Music and iTunes Match on their gadgets, but some just prefer to use Apple Music as they won’t be able to use iTunes Match super match tracking feature. Numerous Apple users have been looking for the way to sync their tracks using Apple Music and we are going to sort that in this post.

How to sync itunes library without deleting music

How To Sync With iTunes Without Deleting Apple Music Playlists & Stream from iCloud Music Library

When you turn Apple Music on you will be given two options – Replace or Merge your new music with the content already present on your iPhone. You have to choose the merge option so that Apple Music won’t get rid of anything on your phone. And, when you turn off Apple Music, then nothing will remove from your account. You can follow these steps from your iTunes library and merge it with Apple Music.

  1. Press on Music and set your Music Library off, and then tap off.
  2. Next, open Music app and tap over Playlists. You won’t have any playlist present, no need to panic as all your playlists are safely saved in iCloud.
  3. Now, connect your iPhone with your Mac or laptop with iTunes software using the Lightning cable. Open iTunes and select the device which has connected.
  4. From the Music present on the sidebar and select Sync Music.
  5. Select which music you want on your iPhone.
  6. Up next, you should go back and check your playlists. Now, they have been replaced with one that you synced so don’t panic as they will be back soon.
  7. Open your iPhone’s Settings and set your iCloud Music library on.
  8. Here, you will get two options – Merge or Replace. You have to tap on Merge, never press replace option if you want all your songs back.
  9. It will take a few minutes for your Music library to load, but now you will get all your playlists back.

When you now tap on Playlists, then you will see all the content from before. As all your playlists are synced with your iCloud Music library now. The music that you have synced from iTunes will appear on your iPhone. If you want to sync with iTunes without deleting Apple Music playlist, then key point here is to press the Merge not Replace. This merger will synch your iTunes playlists with Apple Music. This way you will never your favorite playlists.

How to Sync an iPhone to a New Computer Without Losing Music

  • Connect your iPhone to the new computer with which you want to sync it and launch iTunes if it does not launch automatically.
  • Click the “Cancel” button when the iTunes syncing message appears on the screen.
  • The message tells you that the phone is synced with another iTunes library on another computer.
  • Click your iPhone in the “Devices” section in the iTunes window and click the “Summary” tab. Select the “Manually manage music and videos” check box and click “OK” to sync content manually. Click “Apply.”
  • Click the “Music” tab under “Library” to view songs stored in the iTunes library.
  • Hold the “Shift” key while clicking songs to select multiple adjacent files. Hold the “Ctrl” key while clicking songs to select multiple non-adjacent files.
  • Drag the selected music files to your iPhone’s icon in the Devices list on the left side of the iTunes window.
  • Right-click your iPhone when you finish and click the “Eject” button. Disconnect the USB cable.

Also read:

Source chron

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More